Sustainable Design Poster + Rationale

SD.pngSD2.png

For this project, the keyword I extracted from the brief was “portfolio”. With consideration that the client is a possible employer, I chose to physically make the poster into an envelope for the portfolio. As well as it being a way to save paper; a choice with the principles of sustainable design in mind. The additional information on the back of the poster is also due to the idea of it being able to change into an envelope. Green felt like the obvious choice to represent this topic, the other colour choices revolve around it as to compliment the main colour. The font choices are more to represent my style/personality, same with how I’ve laid out the manifesto in a procedural list like way. It’s just usually easier for me to remember and keep track of things in that format. Lastly, as another small personal detail I put the date on the poster because I’m sure my definitions and understanding of sustainable design will change in the near future.

Some additional concerns + aspects I could’ve improved:

I’d have liked to definitely refined the placement of type a lot more. At the moment it seems sloppy and not as interesting or eye-catching as it could be. I also experimented with the fold lines, to make it a bit more obvious what the function is, such as using dotted lines, opacity, etc. and I would’ve liked to have solved that problem as well. I like the concept, and I feel like it well represents the type of solutions I often arrive at. I also enjoyed the overall colour scheme though that could be refined further as well, such as playing around with the colours of the shapes created by the fold lines.

6.5/10 Still lacking when working with large amounts of text in poster form as well as making conceptual imagery. I can do better.

Research links: 

http://www.howdesign.com/design-business/design-thinking/sustainability-design-manifesto/

http://www.core77.com/posts/40586

http://www.morethangreen.es/en/ideology/four-sustainabilities-cultural-economic-social-environmental-sustainability/#sthash.0uTepRCG.dpbs

https://www.press.jhu.edu/news/blog/ten-principles-good-sustainable-design-history

There were probably a few more lost in the depths of my chrome history.

Leave a comment